Mrs. Cox Would Be Proud

DSC_0008

Last Monday I started the unplanned project of organizing my desk drawers. (This led to the opening of the paper storage trunk and several other cans of worms.) Between the two desks there are four (large, but shallow) drawers. Since we’ve built the desks, I’ve just been using the drawers as a safe-keeping-dumping-ground for when company came over and when I needed to use the desk top for actual work/craft stuff. Over time, each drawer kind of took on its own personality–there was the mail drawer (letters to be returned, bits of stationery, stamps, the good pens), the coupon drawer (sale ads, weekly inserts from the Sunday paper, store coupons, the random checkbook that I can never find because I use it once a year), the crafting drawer (recently used rubber stamps & inks, all of the other pens, recently purchased washi tapes, random bits of paper, photographs, fancy paperclips) and a relatively empty drawer (where I was keeping stuff for the Election party and Thanksgiving, but now that stuff is in our storage closet and miraculously the drawer hasn’t been overtaken by other stuff).

So on Friday (after procrastinating and getting the rest of the worms in order) I finally finished–the desktop is clear (except the fun stuff) and the drawers are organized. And, not only are the drawers organized, but they are beautiful–I lined them with large sheets of paper from my stash. Spending out=big win.

Meet the newly organized coupon drawer (which also holds some other things I use while I’m at the computer):

DSC_0010

The mail drawer (I am so excited to get some of my favorite stationery out of the second bedroom and into the desk where it’s easy to see!):

DSC_0001

The “extra” drawer after:

DSC_0008

The craft drawer:

DSC_0004

Next I want to hang up the art that is just sitting on the desk top (and in the closet). I’m hesitating because I’m not sure how the vintage time card holder is going to work up there. Any opinions?

DSC_0010

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Mrs. Cox Would Be Proud

  1. Mom says:

    Wow!! Nice work. Mrs. Cox would be proud. I’m sure you are proud of all your work. Now everything will be easy to find.

  2. cath says:

    When I would have accomplished a task like that with a lovely result like that, I would go and take a look just for the joy of it, every now and then. Do you?

  3. naoto says:

    Very nice! I like the use of assorted washi paper…

  4. Svetlana says:

    Very nice! What is the brand of the lamp?

Leave a comment